Joyner Library celebrates SOAD graduate student art exhibit award winners

11th annual event showcases student work

The spotlight shone on ECU student art at the 11thannual School of Art and Design graduate student exhibit and reception, held on Thursday, Feb. 7, and sponsored by the Friends of Joyner Library.

More than 25 works from 15 artists range from paintings and drawings to textile and metal designs to sculpture, photography, pottery and more.

Jan Lewis, director of Joyner Library, and Kate Bukoski, director of the School of Art and Design, welcomed guests and artists alike to the exhibit, now entering its second decade.

Tim Christensen, an associate professor of biology at ECU as well as a graduate student in photography, received the evening’s top honor, the Friends of Joyner Library Purchase Award. He shared thoughts on his work:

“As a scientist, I collect objects as a critical step in the scientific method. Categorizing objects is a formal and constrained act of observation to measure how they deviate from the norm. As a primate, I am less constrained and the objects I collect are more about capturing an abstract moment of curiosity. Photographing at high-resolution satiates my need to examine that curiosity. Putting these objects together assembles the story of my interaction with nature.” 

Christensen’s works will join the library’s collection of art displayed throughout the building.

Mairin Gwyn, who received the College of Fine Arts and Communication Dean’s Merit Award, said in her artist statement:

“Using candy as my main medium, I explore the dynamics between the male and female genders through the use of pet names as a means to diminish or patronize women. My series is called ‘Unsweet’, because I am unsweet. I am not a sweetie, I am not your baby, and my reaction to being called sweetie is anything but sweet, it’s ‘Unsweet.’”

The exhibit runs through the month of February in the Faulkner Gallery on the second floor of Joyner Library.

2019 Award Winners:

Friends of Joyner Library Purchase Award Winner ($1000): Tim Christensen, “Stones” and “Feathers”

College of Fine Arts and Communication Dean’s Merit Award ($500): Mairin Gwyn, “Unsweet No. 2”

School of Art and Design Director’s Award ($350): Jessica Bradsher, “Inspiration”

School of Art and Design Award ($250): Adam Atkinson, “Hide”

Dowdy Student Store Award ($50 gift certificate): Tim Rickett, “Waste Management”