2017-2018 Alternative Textbook Program Recipients

J.Y. Joyner Library is pleased to announce this year’s Alternative Textbook Program recipients. Sixteen faculty were selected for the 2017-2018 program and they will receive stipends of up to $1,000 to incorporate open textbooks, library materials, and/or other free resources in their courses. Additionally, recipients will be paired with a personal librarian who will provide assistance with copyright and identifying possible course materials. The goal of the program is to reduce costs for students while also giving faculty the opportunity to customize their course materials.

Congratulations to the following program recipients:

Margaret Bauer, English

Mark Bowler, Psychology

Andy Brimhall, Human Development and Family Science

Kermit Buckner, Educational Leadership, Education

Kristine Callis-Duehl, Biology

Cindy Elmore, Communication

Eric Horsman, Geological Sciences

Lee Johnson, Religious Studies

Sharon Justice, Business

Sharon Knight, Health Education and Promotion

Gregory Lapicki, Physics

Seung Hyun Lee, School of Hospitality Leadership, Business

Laura Levi Alstaedter, Foreign Languages & Literatures

Nicholas Rupp, Economics

Jennifer Williams, Special Education, Foundations and Research, Education

Terri Woods, Geological Sciences

More information about the Alternative Textbook Program can be found here: http://libguides.ecu.edu/AlternativeTextbookProgram.


This program was supported by grant funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the federal Library Services and Technology Act as administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources.